Sign up For DC 37 News


Public Employee Press

DC 37 Endorsements

Vote in the Sept. 12 primaries


THE UNION is backing Mayor Bill de Blasio in his run for re-election.

In addition, the union supports citywide incumbents New York City Public Advocate Letitia James and New York City Comptroller Scott Stringer.

For borough president, we support incumbents Eric Adams (Brooklyn), Gayle Brewer (Manhattan), Ruben Diaz Jr. (the Bronx), Melinda Katz (Queens) and James Oddo (Staten Island).

In July, the union endorsed 46 candidates for City Council seats.

“These are highly qualified candidates who’ve distinguished themselves as dedicated and accomplished leaders for our city and in our communities,” said DC 37 Executive Director Henry Garrido.

“They also share our union’s values of economic and social justice for all, as well as a commitment to continue the work of making government the force necessary to improve the lives of all New Yorkers,” Garrido said.

“We will be on the phones and on the streets engaging our members from now until primary day to ensure victory for these candidates,” Garrido added.

The New York City Democratic and Republican party primaries are on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

DC 37 Endorsed Candidates

Borough President
Gayle Brewer
City Council
1 Margaret Chin
2 Carlina Rivera
3 Corey Johnson
4 No Endorsement
6 Helen Rosenthal
7 Mark Levine
8 Diana Ayala
9 No Endorsement
10 Ydanis Rodriguez

Borough President
Ruben Diaz Jr.
City Council
11 Andrew Cohen
12 Andy King
13 Marjorie Velazquez
14 Fernando Cabrera
15 Ritchie Torres
16 Vanessa Gibson
17 Rafael Salamanca
18 Amanda Farias

Borough President
Melinda Katz
City Council
19 Paul Vallone
20 Peter Koo
21 Francisco P. Moya
22 Costa Constantinides
23 Barry Grodenchik
24 Rory Lancman
25 Daniel Dromm
26 Jimmy Van Bramer
27 I. Daneek Miller
28 Adrienne Adams
29 Karen Koslowitz
30 Elizabeth Crowley
31 Donovan Richards
32 Eric Ulrich
33 Stephen Levin
Borough President
Eric Adams
City Council
34 Antonio Reynoso
35 Laurie Cumbo
36 Robert Cornegy
37 Rafael Espiñal
38 Carlos Menchaca
39 Brad Lander
40 Mathieu Eugene
41 Alicka Ampry-Samuel
42 Inez Barron
43 Justin Brannan
44 No Endorsement
46 Alan Maisel
47 Mark Treyger
48 No Endorsement

Borough President
James Oddo
City Council
49 Deborah Rose
50 No Endorsement
51 Dylan Schwartz

Bill de Blasio
NYC Mayor

Letitia James
NYC Public Advocate

Scott Stringer
NYC Comptroller