Sign up For DC 37 News

Residency Law

On February 11, 2009, the City Council passed Local Law 10 of 2009 (Intro No. 837) amending the New York City Administrative Code to allow DC 37 members, once they have lived in the city for a minimum of two years, to live in the six counties surrounding New York City – Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.
On March 16, 2009, the New York City Department of Citywide Administrative Services issued a memorandum to agency personnel officers explaining the waiver of residency requirements for DC 37 titles where collective bargaining agreements have been reached, along with a copy of the new law. The Health and Hospitals Corporation subsequently issued a similar notification.

For more information, please contact your DC 37 local president or DC 37 Division.

Residency Requirements

New York City Residency Law (PDF)